Never too old

You are never too old to do something you want to do.

If you think you are, then that’s exactly the right time to do it anyway.

Recently a 95 year old smashed the record for the 200m sprint.

Ok it wasn’t the fastest time ever recorded for anyone, but it was the fastest time for a person of 95.

What I loved about this story wasn’t that a 95 year old was the fastest 95 year old, but that a 95 year old wanted to run the 200m in the first place.

Charles Eugster – dubbed the world’s fittest old aged pensioner – eclipsed the previous world’s best for over-95s by 2.4 seconds as he romped around an indoor track in 55.48 seconds.

It’s a truly remarkable feat from the retired dentist, who also boasts the British Masters outdoor records over 100m and 200m.

And to make his exploits even more impressive, it was revealed that he only took up exercise a decade ago, at the ripe age of 85.

Apparently he said that he was becoming a bit of a couch potato, so he decided to take up some exercise!

How amazing is that.

Think about how much fun it was to do things as a kid.

I loved doing handstands, rolling down hills, jumping in puddles, finger painting, eating raw cake mixture, going on the round about or the swings, climbing trees, skipping and doing a hundred and one other things that I don’t do now because I’m too old for that sort of thing.

Well, I’ve decided I’m not.

So if you want to wear a bubble bath beard or chase butterflies in the fields – you can come and join me 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under depression, Development, Exercise, experiment, fun, Good News, Happy, Health, inspiration, Mental Health, Motivation, Positivity, Psychology, Relaxation, Self Help, Stress, Worrying

2 responses to “Never too old

  1. The other day my son told me I should´t go to a certain shop looking for clothes, as I had, because I was too old. But since he doesn´t do everything I tell him to, so why should I do everything he tells me. 😊

What do you think?

