Eat good food

good food

You are what you eat, so avoid cheap food,fast food and junk food – Eat good food.

Now, what you consider good food will vary from person to person.

Some people are Vegan and think food from animals is not good.

Some people are into clean foods and think that sugar and fat are not good.

Some people think that salads are for rabbits (so wrong, salads are for gorillas!) and that anything that’s green is not good.

Some people think that wheat or anything containing gluten is not good.

Some people think that cooked food is not good.

Some people think that organic is the only way and that chemically farmed or GM crops are not good.

I’m not making judgements here – what you eat is for you to decide. As long as you are maintaining a healthy weight and getting all your essential nutrients I would suggest that what you’re eating is OK for you, my point is you should eat good food.

Your version of good may or may not be the same as mine, but I think making food a part of your thought process is useful to you, and taking time to make good food is worth it.

Today I’m starting a recipe that will take 3 days to complete. It’s for Beef short ribs, or Jacobs ladder. It involves a days marination with a dry rub, 6 hours of cooking in a BBQ sauce and an overnight chill before finally heating for 3 hours before serving. I cannot tell you how much I’m looking forward to a) the process of cooking these and b) eating them.

I had to order this cut of meat from my butchers, then I had to make a trip to the supermarket to get all of the ingredients for the sauce. I have printed out the recipe from the internet and will now follow it step by step. It’s almost a meditative process. By taking time and enjoying the steps it makes the whole so much more than the parts. I’m hoping that it tastes amazing, but even if it doesn’t I will have gained something by being thoughtful about what I’m eating.

I also love eating at restaurants that spend time preparing food. I was luck enough to eat at The Fat Duck a little while ago, and it was genuinely amazing. One of the courses took five days to prepare. We have a reservation at Le Gavroche for next year – I’m pretty sure I’ll be blogging about it soon 🙂

Have you ever noticed that a lot of our really happy events are based around food – not fast food, but food that takes time to put together. Today is Thanksgiving and the traditions of food linked with this celebration are widespread. The same goes for Christmas, Easter, Hanukkah, Diwali and many other religious festivals from all denominations. The same goes for weddings and birthdays – anything that involves celebrations.

So today, think about what you are eating, make choices about your food for the coming days weeks and months and what ever you do …

eat good food. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, fun, Happy, Health, inspiration, meditation, Mental Health, Motivation, nutrition, Positivity, Psychology, Relaxation, Self Help

What do you think?

