Being Mindful Doesn’t Mean Not Making Mistakes

Mindfulness is an amazing way to work on all sorts of issues, from social anxiety to eating disorders, but like everything else – it takes practice.
For perfectionists, this can be one of the hardest things to accept – that you’re not perfect at it straight away.

Amanda Johnson

Have you ever gotten frustrated with yourself for not being as calm and centered as you would like to be?

I have. Quite a bit.

I often forget that mindfulness is not just another thing to “get right.” Somehow I get it in my head that just because I practice presence that means I will always behave in a mindful way. That I can “master” mindfulness. No pressure or anything.

But Eckart Tolle reminds us that as soon as we notice we are not being present, we are present. That is the whole point.

Mindfulness is an ongoing, lifelong exercise in reminding ourselves to be in the present moment. This will happen over and over and over again.

And the more often I can remind myself that my mind is focused more in the past or future and not on what is happening in the moment, the more I strengthen…

View original post 474 more words

4 Comments

Filed under Happy

4 responses to “Being Mindful Doesn’t Mean Not Making Mistakes

  1. About 20 years ago, a friend reminded me to be more aware of the “present” while we were hiking in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado. At the time, I was so busy thinking about other stuff that I wasn’t really maximizing the moment. I still remember that because it hit home and I have tried to be better since then, and I still can get better at it.

    Actually, I find that this blogging experience has increased my awareness about what I’m doing, seeing, thinking, feeling, etc. For example, I’m thinking about content for blog posts, photos that would be appropriate, etc. Previously, I might not have thought that much about what I was doing in the present.

    This is so different from my mother who has Alzheimer’s, since she can only be in the present with no past or future. However, that’s not very good at that extreme either. She doesn’t even have any awareness of who or where she is, what her name is, etc. I guess it’s about balance and wholeness.

    • Balance is the key to everything. Unfortunately we all tend to find that balance point difficult. I hope you are getting some support for you – having a close relative with dementia is very challenging.

      • She’s 94 and lived over 6 years in a memory care unit of an assisted living facility about 30 minutes away (actually right near iFly). I also have a sister and brother nearby too. She’s doing pretty well, and doesn’t know anything except she loves me. I guess that emotional part of her brain isn’t affected (yet). It’s difficult at times but I’m doing great.

What do you think?

