Time to escape

Prompted by the daily Prompt

Love it or hate it you can’t deny there’s been a lot of talk about Game of Thrones recently. It’s one of the biggest hits on TV and the book sales have gone ballistic. Before this we had Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit – all epic tales of Fantasy. If your taste doesn’t run to Dragons, Elves, Wizards or Halflings maybe you are more drawn to Indiana Jones, James Bond, Jason Bourne or the like, or maybe you prefer X men, Star Wars or are even a bit of a Trekkie. Then again maybe Mr Darcy is more your bag.

In reality it really doesn’t matter what route you use to escape the hum drum of everyday life – the fact is, most people do.

And we Love it.

Whether you listen to the radio, watch TV, are stuck to your ipad, are glued to a kindle/paperback or can’t be separated from your games console – you have found a way to escape.

Personally I think it’s a marvellous thing to do.

I get to imagine adventures I would never take, loves I will never have, heartbreak I can barely think about, fear, joy, terror and elation in manageable, bite sized pieces. It both prepares us for the real world and gives us an out when we don’t feel like dealing with it any more.

I’m a strong believer in meditation and self hypnosis. This to me is the ultimate way to escape, and I always make time for it, but I try to also make time to visit what ever fantasy creation has intrigued and inspired me at that time. It’s like a ticket into somebody else’s imagination and I am so grateful to the people who are skilled and generous enough to share their vivid pictures with me.

To all those who take the time to write, to create, to share – I thank you.

2 Comments

Filed under Happy, hypnosis, inspiration, meditation, Relaxation, Self Hypnosis

2 responses to “Time to escape

  1. To escape. Your post indicated no ties of fiction being a guilty pleasure, but allowed for the freedom of reading fiction for the sole purpose of having an escape. I found myself wanting to remove my cloak of guilt and qualmlessly embrace the world of fiction! Your response attracted me with its shameless vibes, and your perspective of fiction will be the measure to which I aspire. Thank you for your post ~

    • I don’t believe in guilty pleasures – as long as what you’re doing doesn’t hurt anyone and you enjoy doing it, you should do it more 😊
      Always find time to escape and to enjoy yourself.
      Thank you for commenting – now kick back and relax with a good book x

What do you think?

