Who am I and why am I here?

Who am I and why am I here?

Is this a massive question, or a very simple one?

Let’s start easy

My name is Sue, I’m a Hypnotherapist, I’m an unmarried, but long term partner (18 years) to my boyfriend. I’m a daughter, a sister, an aunty and a friend. I’m a caregiver to an 8 year old hairy monster of a dog called Flump. I’m a bit of a hippy when it comes to peace, love and equality, but I’m also a trained scientist, so I like to see evidence of things working and to understand why. Maybe because of this I’m also an atheist, but one with a pretty good understanding of religions of many varieties. I’m a blogger (or at least trying to be) and in simple terms I guess that brings me to why I’m here.

I’m here, sat in front of my computer, writing a blog, to share some of the things I have learned. I wish I had known the stuff I know now when I was 10. Things would have been very different for me. I would have been more confident, more self assured and much, much happier. If I can share some of the things that have helped me, then that is a great thing. I’ll be honest and say that part of the reason I write is to raise the profile of my business, but realistically, it isn’t going to make that much difference to it. I’m based in the UK, in Coventry, and I run a face to face practise, so the chances are that wherever you are reading this from, you are never going to come and see me. For me this is much more about sharing information that can change your life in a positive way and maybe, just maybe, making it easier for you to be who you want to be and to do what you want to do.

On a deeper level the question of who we are and why we are here can seem pretty overwhelming, especially in the early hours of the morning when you can’t sleep or late at night, when you are sat at home, alone.

Personally I believe that there is no real reason.

We just are.

It can take a while to get your head around, and if you believe in a higher power, then you will obviously think I am mistaken. That’s OK, it’s hopefully going to be a while until either of us know for sure, and until then I just want to live my life as happily as I can. For me that means helping others too, as that makes me feel good.

In the film ‘The Bucket list’ there is a scene where the protagonists are visiting Egypt. They say that the Egyptians believe that when you die you are asked two questions before you can enter ‘heaven’. These questions are:

Have you found joy in your life?

Have you brought joy to others’ lives?

I’d like to think I can answer yes to both of these, and I plan on doing more of the same.

Here’s to a great week

🙂

 If you want to find out more about what I do, or hypnotherapy in general please feel free to check out my site Talk Therapies.

I’d love to know what you think

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Happy, Health, inspiration, Mental Health, Self Help

What do you think?

